Meat free Mondays

by
Dont have a cow, man

Don't have a cow, man

Earlier this week (Monday, appropriately enough) Paul McCartney and some other groovy celebrities launched the ‘Meat Free Monday’ campaign.

The aim is to encourage people to help cut carbon emissions by eating less meat. A United Nations report last year argued that reducing meat consumption will be a necessary part of global efforts to tackle climate change.

Now I know that many members of the Paintbrush collective like their meat. However, I also think that they like their planet as well. I am therefore proposing that Frank Owen’s Paintbrush commits itself to the Meat Free Monday campaign.

(To other Paintbrushers: this is what happens when you leave all the blog-writing to me)

Tags: ,

3 Responses to “Meat free Mondays”

  1. Stewart Cowan Says:

    I like a lot of McCartney’s songs, even post-Fab Four, but I’ll eat what I want for dinner, when I want.

    Or will I??

    We read, “A United Nations report last year argued that reducing meat consumption will be a necessary part of global efforts to tackle climate change.”

    So I guess that will mean state control of some sort, either quotas for meat production or perhaps a return to rationing.

  2. What’s right, and what’s wrong « Frank Owen’s Paintbrush Says:

    […] right, and what’s wrong By voteredgogreen Well, my wrist is well and truly slapped. Cap’n Jako’s parting shot in this post to the silent Paintbrushers is scathing indeed. In my defence, I do have a real job in my […]

  3. Where’s the beef? « Frank Owen’s Paintbrush Says:

    […] Paintbrush comrades tonight and completely forgot to remind them that we are signed up to the Meat Free Monday campaign. Sorry Sir Paul and Planet Earth – we will try harder next […]

Leave a Reply

